Of course, the cost reductions will be most significant when the validation countries include those that signed the London Agreement, while those savings can be denied by including validation countries that have German and French as their official language and have not registered (see example 4). Therefore, each of these countries is required to designate one of the EPO`s three languages (currently nominatively English) in which translation of the description is necessary if the patent is published in one of the EPO`s other two languages. In addition, these countries have the right to require the translation of claims into one of their official languages. Therefore, under the London Agreement, no translation of the patent text may be required depending on the countries of interest for the validation of a European patent or, at the very least, a translation of the claims can only be required to obtain validation. With France having tabled its ratification instruments on 29 January 2008, the agreement came into force on 1 May 2008. [2] This agreement was signed by ten countries: Denmark, France, Germany, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, the Netherlands, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. To enter into force, ratification instruments had to be tabled by at least eight countries, including at least France, Germany and the United Kingdom. So far, Monaco, Germany, the United Kingdom, Switzerland, the Netherlands, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Denmark and France have tabled their ratification instruments on the London Agreement, while Slovenia, Iceland, Latvia and Croatia have tabled their accession instruments (accession will also be taken into account when the agreement enters into force). Sweden was ratified on 29 April 2008. [28] France, Germany, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco and Switzerland have one of the EPO`s three official languages as their national language.

For these countries, it is therefore not necessary to translate a patent application filed and issued in English in French or German. B (excluding claims). The Netherlands, Sweden, Denmark and Iceland have also requested that the patent description be translated into English and translate the claims into their national language.