The EU `Everything but Arms` (EBA) agreement was adapted in 2001 to the specific needs of the least developed countries to allow all least developed countries free access to EU tariffs and quotas for all their exports, except arms and armaments. The GATT IV.D.3 decision of 28 November 1979 served as the basis for more favourable treatments for the least developed countries. [6] The first EBA proposal for an agreement began on 20 September 2000: the European Commission proposed “duty-free access to all products from all least developed countries in the EU”. [7] Preferential treatment favours least developed countries (LDCs), which, among other things, comply with international human rights conventions; tariff preferences granted to Cambodia have recently been suspended for certain products due to “serious and systematic violations of human rights principles enshrined in the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights”. [8] The “Everything but Arms” (EBA) initiative, launched in 2001 under the EU GSP, grants LDCs duty- and quota-free access to almost all products (as the name of the programme indicates, weapons and ammunition are excluded). Cape Verde completed its studies on December 20, 2007 in the LDC category. Under the EBA`s smooth transitional regime, Cape Verde continued to benefit from special regime preferences for least developed countries until the end of 2010. In December 2010, the EU decided that the transitional period had not given Cape Verde the time it needed to overcome its over-reliance on a major export sector and thus mitigate the potential negative effects of the abolition of the EBA regime. As a result, the smooth transition period has been extended to January 1, 2012. At the end of the smooth transition period (31 December 2011), the EU granted Cape Verde the status of “GSP” granting preferential access to the EU market when certain conditions of good governance are met.

If you have written this article and are not yet registered with RePEc, we advise you to do so here. This way, you can link your profile to this item. It also allows you to accept possible quotes on this article of which we are not sure. All the content of this site has been made available by the respective publishers and authors. You can help correct errors and omissions. If you request a correction, please indicate the handle of this article: RePEc:ucn:wpaper:201614. General information about hardware correction in RePEc here. Currently, Burundi, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda benefit from the EBA regime. With Kenya`s successful rise as a development leader, the nation is no longer considered by the UN to be “the least developed,” which is why EBA preferences are no longer needed. Until 31 December 2013, the European Commission, the Generalised Preference System (GSP) and the Maldives` Generalized Preference System (tariff perspective) continued to benefit from preferences granted to least developed countries under the Special Smooth Transition Regime. Samoa, which had adopted LDC status in 2014 (and became a developing country) [3] was removed from the EBA list on 1 January 2019.

[4] The programme aims to promote the development of the world`s poorest countries. European Commission, Regulation (EU) 978/2012 of the European Parliament and the Council of 25 October 2012 applying a system of generalised tariff preferences and repealing Regulation (EC) No 732/2008 of the Council The European Union regularly reports on the use of its GSP. The report published in February 2020 is available here. Please note that it may take several weeks for the corrections to filter out the various RePEc services. European Commission, Regulation (EU) No 1063/2010 of 18 November 2010 amending Regulation (EEC) No. 2454/93 on the terms of application of the Regulation (EEC) No. 2913/92 of the Council establishing the Community Customs Code.